Hui-ā-tau Rūnaka / Rūnanga AGM

Members of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio are again advised that our Rūnanga Hui-ā-tau (AGM) is to be held on Saturday 22 September 2012, commencing at 10.00am, in our whare tipuna, Kaipō, Te Tauraka Waka a Māui, Maitahi (Bruce Bay).

Panui / Agenda

  1. Mihimihi & Karakia
  2. Kai te noho / Members present
  3. Tuku aroha / Apologies
  4. Kā mate
  5. Mahi ā whare / Housekeeping
  6. Mīniti / Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting held 24 September 2011
  7. Mea ka puta / Matters arising
  8. Pūroko Pūtea / Annual financial accounts
  9. Appointment of Auditor
  10. Pūroko / Reports
  11. Pōtitanga Rūnanganui / Executive Committee elections
  12. Mahi whānui / General business
    1. Election process (Terry Scott)
    2. Future direction of rūnanga (Paul Wilson)

Pōtitanga Rūnanganui / Executive Committee elections

The following Rūnanganui (Executive) positions were opened for election at this year's Hui-ā-tau. Nominations were sought for:

  • Kaiwhakahaere tuarua / Deputy Chairperson
  • Kaipūtea / Treasurer
  • Mema / Executive ordinary members (2)

The nomination process closed at 4.00 pm on Tuesday 18 September 2012.

The following candidates have been nominated and the Deputy Chairperson and Executive members positions will be elected by secret ballot at the Hui-ā-tau (AGM) to be held this coming Saturday.

Kaiwhakahaere tuarua / Deputy Chairperson

  • Kara Edwards
  • Helen Rasmussen

Kaipūtea / Treasurer

  • Stuart Barr

Mema / Executive ordinary members (2)

  • Maxie Duncan
  • Kara Edward
  • Marie Mahuika-Forsyth
  • Helen Rasmussen

Voting process

As has been the practice followed since 2003, ballot papers will be printed based on valid nomination forms received within deadline. The ballot papers will be taken to the Hui-ā-tau (AGM), where they will be distributed to registered members attending the meeting during the "Pōtitanga Rūnanganui / Executive Committee elections" portion of the Agenda. Scrutineers will be appointed on the day to count ballot paper votes.


Directly following our AGM, a Special Meeting will commence.


To vote on changes to the constitution concerning Upoko and Deputy Upoko positions, Kaituhituhi position, alterations to the rules and other required updates.  The proposed constitutional changes have been posted to members with the latest edition of our rūnanga newsletter, Ka Tangi te Kōkō.


The marae is booked for whānau to stay from Friday afternoon. Please bring kai to contribute and a koha for your marae stay.

You will need your blankets, toiletries and towels, clothes, games, guitars and your sense of humour. The rūnanga will provide lunch on the Saturday.

Remember to contact the office to let us know how many are staying for the weekend on 0800 955 007.

Māori Land Court hui reminder

Just a reminder that two Māori Land Court facilitated hui will be held on Sunday 23 September 2012 at the Bruce Bay Hall. Mahitahi Ahuwhenua Trust hui will commence at 10.00 am and the Bruce Bay Blk X Sec 782 Trust (Māori Beach) will commence at 1.00 pm.

Last modified: 19 September 2012

Te Runanga o Makaawhio Te Runanga o Makaawhio