Ko Wai Mātou/Profile of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio

Te Rūnanga o Te Koeti Tūranga was incorporated at Mahitahi (Bruce Bay) in 1988, as a successor to the old Mahitahi Māori Committee and as the legal representative at that time of the Ngāti (Kāti) Māhaki ki Makaawhio, hapū of Ngāi (Kāi) Tahu, based at Mahitahi in South Westland.

A name change to Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio Inc was completed in 1996 to better reflect a constitutional change made to our membership rules.

A non-profit incorporated society; the rūnanga has legal identity under the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Act 1996 as one of its 18 constituent papatipu rūnanga. Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio Inc has the following defined takiwā according to Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu (Declaration of Membership) Order in Council (2001):
"The takiwā of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio is centred at Makaawhio and extends from the south bank of the Pouerua River to Piopiotahi and inland to the Main Divide together with a shared interest with Te Rūnaka o Katiwaewae in the area situated between the north bank of the Pouerua River and the south bank of the Hokitika River."

Membership of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio is restricted to the direct descendants of the original 1860 kaumatua of the Mahitahi and Makaawhio reserved lands in the Bruce Bay district as listed by James Mackay, namely: Te Koeti Tūranga, Kinihe te Kaoho, Kere Tūtoko, Rāwiri Mokohuruhuru, Parata Tiraahiahi, Pori, Hunia, Te Kuini, Rora, Te Kou and including descendants of the tīpuna Tūtoko and Hinepare. Current registered membership sits around 1500, the majority of whom reside outside of the takiwā.

Further information about registering as a member of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio, including a downloadable registration form, is available here.

Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio Inc has sole responsibility for the social, cultural, political and economic interests of Ngāti (Kāti) Māhaki ki Makaawhio. A diagram showing the operational structure of the rūnanga may be viewed here.

An eight-member Rūnanganui (Executive Committee) governs the organization, with the annual appointment of our Upokorūnanga by the Rūnanganui. A staggered election cycle means a number of positions come up for election each year at the annual general meeting, with two positions — namely Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu (TRoNT) Representative and alternate, who represent Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio at the tribal council level — appointed through a separate process every three years.

Komiti mātua (standing committee) and Komiti iti (sub-committee) membership is reviewed annually by the Rūnanganui.

Currently, our Komiti mātua have delegated authority for the nine main areas of activity:

  • Marae
  • Pounamu
  • Māhakitaka (Culture and heritage)
  • Ngā Rawa Taiao (Resource management and natural resources)
  • Whakamoni (Business development)
  • Whakamahi (Operations)
  • Whanaukataka (Whānau development)
  • Toitū te whenua (Land)
  • Mātauraka (Education)

The financial interests of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio are held under charitable status by a wholly owned subsidiary, Kāti Māhaki ki Makaawhio Limited.

Last modified: 10 March 2013

Te Runanga o Makaawhio Te Runanga o Makaawhio